Skip to main content

Holly Springs Chatter

Holly Springs welcomes new mayor and council members

Dec 07, 2021 01:46PM ● By Chris Hendricks


The Town of Holly Springs is welcoming a new Mayor and two new Council Members.  Sean Mayefskie will be sworn in as Mayor at tonight’s [December 7, 2021] Town Council meeting along with new Council Members Tim Forrest and Kristi Bennett.  

Mayefskie, a resident of Holly Springs for more than 20 years and a long-time business owner, has been active in the community for years as part of the Chamber of Commerce and work for the nonprofit Meg’s Smile.  Forrest is a retired Colonel in the U.S. Army, owns a local business to assist transitioning Veterans and has served the community as the Chair of the Holly Springs Board of Adjustment.  Bennett is a local mom of three small children, a part-time business owner and an active volunteer in the community with the Holly Springs Interfaith Alliance.

Outgoing Mayor Dick Sears, along with Town Council Members Christine Kelly and Pete Villadsen, will also be honored for their service tonight.  Sears leaves office after 20 years of public service to the Town of Holly Springs.  The Town recently announced the naming of “Dick Sears Field at Ting Stadium” in honor of all that he has done for the community.  Council Member Christine Kelly has been on the Holly Springs Town Council for the last four years, serving on the Tree Advisory Committee Member, the Development Technical Review Committee, and the Wake County and Town of Holly Springs Landfill Working Group.  Council Member Pete Villadsen has been on the Holly Springs Town Council for the last five years, serving as a member of the Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee, Triangle J Council of Governments, and the Civic Nonprofit Grant Committee.

For more information, visit the Town of Holly Springs website.